Skip to content

3,2,1, Cast On…..

January 2, 2011

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

I am bringing in the New Year, DIY style, clinking my knitting needles instead of champagne glasses….casting on for my first pair of socks of 2011.

Thuja Socks in Socks that Rock Colorway ” Honey”.  I just made a pair of these same socks using a different colorway for my husband for Christmas, and i now have the pattern committed to memory.   Boy they knit up fast on thicker than fingering weight yarn.  Getting a good start on the year’s knitting….

I think this year I have more craft related New Year’s resolutions than ever!!  I have lots to crank out this year.  I have several sweaters either on the needles, or in my queue waiting to be cast on.  This winter I am getting selfish with my knitting time, and gonna deck myself out in some warm woolens.

I have plans to finish my Fairwind Cardigan by the end of January.  Today I knit almost all day long, and managed to finish the bottom portion of the body.  I did 3 lace repeats, and the length is just right! Now onto the sleeves, which should go fast.

I also have cast on for the Idlewood tunic, a pattern by the same designer as the Fairwind, Cecily Glowik Macdonald of Winged Knits…I love so many of her patterns, and her directions are clear and easy to follow.  She uses this wonderful increase “ K1-b/r”, which creates a subtle but lovely raglan shaping.  I am knitting with yarn I inherited from my Grandma’s stash.  She had a whole shopping bag full of this soft wool yarn in that hideous mint green seen in  baby yarns.  So i just dropped all 15 skeins of it into a mustard dyebath, and voila.  Yummy hand-dyed yarn to knit away with.  You will see pictures soon….

Now that the holiday presents have been opened, I can share a few of the projects that were under top secret wraps..

A handwoven bag made for my husbands I Ching book and runes.  The cloth for this was woven on my rigid heddle Flip loom, and the band was cardwoven on my inkle loom.  It is lined with wool felt for a sturdy pouch, with a snap closure.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s the sweater vest I made for my daughter Maizie:

The yarn is handspun, 2 ply from roving from BeeMiceElf in the Bougainvilla colorway.  It is superwash merino, so i can launder without worrying about felting.

I had just enough yarn to make a small matching vest for her new doll:

She was so pleased!!

And for one final Christmas craft….my own present of course!  Who knows what to get me better than myself!  I bought myself a pound of this luscious ecru BFL/silk blend from Paradise fibers, undyed.  And at our last dye day at my studio, I dyed it all up as a lot enough to spin for a vest. I was very pleased with the results, and I considered it my Christmas present to myself!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So here’s to plenty of knitting, weaving, spinning, sewing, and whatever craft is your fancy in the New Year!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 4:52 pm

    great post row! your fairwind looks fab! you are cruisin. love your BFL roving-effin gorgeous.

  2. January 7, 2011 8:14 pm

    Wow, you are putting me to shame with your Fairwind! I am looking forward to seeing it on Monday! I always love the colors you pick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

