Skip to content

February Socks and a New Club….

February 27, 2011

For a short month, naturally I knit a pair of small socks!  A cute pair of socks for my sweet 6 year old.

Yes, hard to believe she is 6.  From this tiny little bundle:

to this:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Out of these socks, a new tradition in our house..a fresh pair of handknit socks for your birthday month!  Not for your birthday exactly, but sometime in the month. Moss is anxiously his birthday socks, which will be in April.  I never like to  hear him whine, but  I did smile a bit when he was pouting about wanting his handknit socks…I am cultivating a taste for fine handknits in both my children!

February is typically a slow month, so I seem to get a lot of crafting done, and inspiration for new projects.  One cool thing I did this month was join the Spunky Eclectic Weaving Club.  Amy sends you yarn and a simple draft pattern, all designed to be woven on a rigid heddle loom.  I have 2 rigid heddle looms I mainly use for weaving with handspun. I recently got the Weaver’s Idea Book, so that I could explore other techniques beyond plain weave on a rigid heddle loom.  So this club will be a great inspiration for new project on my more portable looms.

We were given a few choices when we joined the club as to our color preferences ( i.e. earth tones, blues etc)..I chose the Wild category, which means anything goes! I love wild color combinations, and a club is a great way to push the edge of your color choices. Amy ( aka Boogie on Ravelry) from Spunky  Eclectic is known for her wonderful creative and wild sense of color combining!

Want to see what we got for the first month’s club?

Two skeins of Rustic Silk Yarn, in these beautiful Gold and Purple colors.

Here’s the yarn Warped on:

 

 

The Draft we were given was a simple Houndstooth weave.

And here’s the weave in progress:

 

 

There is snow on the ground, tea in my mug, fire in the stove, and lots of yarny projects around! BLISS!

Looking forward to next month’s projects!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 6:42 pm

    I love the Maisey photos.. she is such a wonderful, sweet girl to be proud of. If it’s any comform, Glenn would be whining as much as Mossy if I promised hand-knit socks… maybe I will surprise him on his birthday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

