Skip to content

Summertime

July 12, 2011

Summertime’s in full swing, and I have been everywhere else but on this blog..

Our garden’s growing:

Yes this is a wheelbarrow full of Napa Cabbage! We made saurkraut!

Spring Strawberries!

A Cool spring made for awesome pea harvest

Mini Pac choi growing up to become seeds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Medicines are in the Making:

Fresh blossoms of St John's Wort for healing oil...

Healing herbs (St John's Wort, Calendula & Lavender, Yarrow, and Comfrey) steeping in oil in a sunny windowsill

Dye Plants are being harvested:

Dyer's Coreopsis flowers!

These wonderful flowers have self sown themselves all over my garden! Each day I go and gather the newly opened blossoms, and dry them down. By the end of their season, I hope to have enough to dye a sweater’s worth of yarn. They will dye the wool a lovely salmon orange if I mordant with alum and modify with alkali. I will post pictures of the finished yarn!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Knitting outside of course!  While my children swim or play or play at our various campgrounds, I have managed to get some knitting done.

Here’s my Enchanted Daybreak Shawl I finished while at our Knit Nite Girls ( Fiber Trash Girls) Summer retreat:

A Spider Web shawl for Mama Spider!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a few pair of socks I have finished, as I have been keeping up with my Year of Socks:

Sport Weight Sock for March

Handspun Socks for April

Fun Textured Socks for May

Handspun Socks for June

-Making lots of yummy treats from garden fruits!  Inspired by a page in one of our  favorite picture books, To Market to Market, the kids and I made Blueberry Turnovers.

Yummy Turnovers with extra filling on top!

 

 

-These long summer days give me lots of time to spend with my wonderful kids. When I am outside with them, I am such a better parent. We’ve been taking lots of short camping trips, and we are learning so much from the wonderful woods.

Maizie found a huge Spring King Bolete Mushroom while camping!

Yes, that is Moss and friends learning to skin a Squirrel! Taken at our Wilderness Skills Family Camp.

Moss found an old Fire Engine while camping in Forest City!

Enjoy these wonderfully long days!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 4:01 pm

    great summer so far! maybe moss can teach me to skin a squirrel!

    • July 18, 2011 5:19 am

      yep, the fiber trash girls certainly must know how to skin squirrels. maybe at our next retreat we can try it!

  2. July 17, 2011 7:51 pm

    Summer is for enjoying, and if it gets in the way of blogging… so be it! Nice post, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

